Plugin WP Reset quickly reset the site database to installation defaults without modifying any files, removes all customizations and content. It contains several failover mechanisms, so you can never accidentally lose data.
WP Reset will be useful to developers of the plugins and templates because it speeds up testing and debugging, providing a quick way to reset and re-testing the code.
WP Reset is fully integrated with the plugin– protected, universal system that connects WordPress to any third party systems and allows you to initiate actions with both WordPress (for example, to start the MailChimp campaign after registering a new user), or from any other application (create a new user in WordPress, when you purchase a third-party system).
What makes the WP Reset plugin
When you reset the plugin removed:
- all posts, pages, comments, custom post types, users, mediaspace,
- all tables in the database WordPress default
- all user database tables that have the same prefix in the table prefix from the one specified in wp-config.php and use tables by default.
When you reset the plugin will not remove or change:
- multimedia files – they remain in the folder wp-uploads, but will not show up under “Media” in the admin panel,
- files, themes, plugins, download remain,
- the name of the website address, WordPress address and site visibility in search engines,
- the logged on user before a reset will be restored with the current user name and password.
What happens when you click Reset:
- you will need to confirm an action, because there is no option of cancellation,
- everything will be reset
- site name, site address, WordPress address, language of the website visibility is search engines, as well as the current user will be restored
- you logout will automatically log in and go to the admin panel,
- the WP Reset plugin will be reactivated if this option is selected in the options after reset.
Support for WP-CLI
WP Reset comes with full support for WP-CLI. Help commands WP-CLI available through the wp help reset. Default command to be confirmed, but you can use the
--yesoption to skip the confirmation. Instead of the active user after a reset will be restored first user with administrator privileges, was found in the database.
Please be careful when using Reset WP with WP-CLI because when you use the graphical user interface cannot be cancelled.
The database is a copy of all tables in the WordPress database, standard and custom, are saved in the currently used database (as provided in wp-config.php). Files are not saved and are not included in the pictures.
Images – is primarily a development tool. Although they can be used for backup (and to boot in the form of gzipped SQL dumps), the developers recommend to find a more suitable tool for creating backups of live sites. Use pictures in order to see what changes were made to the plugin in your database – what user tables have been created, changed, deleted, or what changes were made to the site settings. Or use them for quick recovery of the development environment after testing the changes associated with the database.
Restoring a snapshot does not affect other snapshots or settings reset WordPress. Snapshots can be compared with the current database tables to restore (to overwrite the current tables), export the extracted SQL dumps or remove. Taking a snapshot in a typical WordPress installation takes 1-2 seconds.
MultiSite support (WP-MU)
The WP Reset plugin is not yet fully tested on multi site. Be careful when using MultiSite. It is not recommended to reset the main site. But the subsites should be fine. The developers are working to make WP Reset fully compatible with WP-MU, which will be announced additionally.
Tools partial reset, WP Reset
To run any of the following tools Reset WP, you must confirm the action in the confirmation dialog box that appears after pressing one of the action buttons. Double confirmation there, as in the main dump tool.
It is reasonable to make a backup before running any tool. Remember: WP Reset does automatic backups.
The tools included in the plugin:
- To remove transients – remove all associated transitional processes records in the database. Including overdue and not overdue transients, as well as lost records.
- Delete load deletes all files and folders in the folder / uploads /. The tool does not involve the database. If you have any files related to the multimedia records, they too will be deleted, and eventually you will lose the recording media.
- Remove plugins – remove all plugins except the WP Reset that remains active.
- Reset theme settings – resets all the settings for all themes, including inactive threads. It is effective only for those that use the API modifications of WordPress themes.
- Delete topic – removes all topics. All the themes except the default themes of WordPress will be removed. This is the theme Twenty Seventeen for WordPress versions below 5.0, and the theme of Twenty Nineteen for all newer versions.
- To clear or delete a custom table – it cleans (trims) removes all user-defined database table.
- To delete the file .htaccess – remove file .htaccess. The tool deletes the file .htaccess located in the root sites or, to be more precise,
get_home_path()folder. After deleting the file settings of WordPress are not affected, which means that the permalinks (pretty links) after removal .htaccess will not work.
If you are developing themes, plugins or even WP don’t create websites, you, probably, this plugin is not needed. But WP Reset will help you when the WordPress site will become dirty like a lot of unnecessary information, and you will want to start from scratch. So this plugin is recommended not only developers, but also for beginners.